4gslivingthedream

Adventures of Steve, Patti, Sami and Ozzie

Our day exploring LA

4 Comments

Warning…this post has A LOT of photos. 

Thursday, we left the beach in Ventura and headed off to LA.  We found a place to stay in Pomona which is northwest of the DT LA area.  Traffic coming in was light and we got to our campground with no problems. 

Friday we headed out to explore some of the sights in LA.   First stop, Pasadena.  We wanted to see the Rose Bowl.  They were setting up for a game on Saturday between UCLA against USC.  These games are huge.  Big tents in the parking lots and vendors setting up.

In Pasadena, they treat their dogs very well!!!

 Then we headed off to Hollywood and Beverly Hills area.  A lot of really expensive homes!

We found our way to Hollywood Blvd, Sunset Blvd and the Hollywood Walk of Fame.  There were vendors on the street selling everything from souvenirs to Jay Leno tickets.  If only I could have gotten some Price is Right tickets, I would have had the best Christmas present for Steve!!!!!!  You really need a couple of days to see and experience everything here.  It really is pretty spectacular.

 

Grauman’s Chinese Theatre. There were people in costume and a lot of other interesting people as well!

Below is the Magic Castle.  We originally thought is was some sort of theme park, however it’s a private clubhouse for the Academy of Magical Arts, Inc.  An organization devoted to the advancement of the ancient art of magic.  The Academy has grown into a world-renowned fraternal organization with a membership of nearly 5,000.

For all our Harley friends.  Not the best picture, sorry..but yes there is a Harley store in DT Hollywood.

Almost forgot…We found the sign!  It’s not as easy as you would think to get a picture.  We had to drive up into the hills to get a good shot.

Next stop Rodeo drive.  We started out by driving down the residential area, and what gorgeous homes!!!

 

 This was the coolest house.  I can only imagine what it looks like on the inside!

 Now for the shopping area on Rodeo Drive.  We’ve all probably seen these stores in our bigger cities, however it was much different here.  The area was so pretty and clean and sharp.  The windows were all done up to the hilt, unfortunately my pictures didn’t capture all of them as I had hoped.  Well dressed people and the car of choice in this area appears to be Mercedes.  Not sure, but it looks like George Clooney walking in front of that cool car!

 

 

 

 

 Fashion update below…check out the stockings.

This is my favorite store…some day….I will own a Prada purse!!!  So far I haven’t crossed that off my bucket list!

 

 

It was tempting to do a little shopping, but I was good and just stuck to window shopping. 

Next stop Malibu.  It was overcast and hazy over the ocean by the time we got there, inland was sunny.  The beach was really hard to take pictures of because of the weather, but  looked very nice and there were very expensive homes everywhere.  I imagine the weekends here are packed with people.  The beaches are lined with volley ball nets and clubs on the beach.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We headed back to Pomona around 3:30 and hit rush hour traffic in LA.  I don’t know how people here do it.  It took almost 2 hours to get back to the motor home.  It was a long day sight-seeing, but it was worth it.  Saturday we woke up and changed our plans again….Desert Hot Springs here we come…..stayed tuned……

 

Author: 4gslivingthedream

Full time RV'ers

4 thoughts on “Our day exploring LA

  1. I called Jen and it’s all set…I fly out next week and she’s putting me up at her and Justin’s new house in Malibu. She has a spare Mercedes for me to “bum around it”, so I can drive out to where you will be. Too bad Roger has to work and can’t join me….guess we’ll just have to send him some pictures…..I will send you my flight info soon!!!! Can’t wait!

  2. I just Figured it out .I am having the same terrific trip as you but I don’t have to pay for it 🙂 Keep the great pic’s and narritive coming I’m loving it.
    Dad

  3. Thats it, I am packed and on the next plane out by you!!!! I am giving Jennifer Anniston a call and seeing if she will put me up for a few days!! What a wonderful experience! Alot different than “fond du lac”, hey!!! Thanks for sharing!!!!!

Leave a Reply

